Byron Bay

Byron Bay originally written November 29th in Byron Bay, Australia

Back on the Greyhound in the morning for my day at Byron Bay. And it will only be the for day as I get back on the bus at 7pm.

We arrived at 12pm, I dropped off my luggage at the Visitor Center and headed to the beach. I was there for about an hour when a dark cloud showed itself. I was hoping the cloud would pass and hold off the rain. No such luck, down came the rain and I found myself at the Balcony Bar for the better part of the afternoon.

image

image

image

image

image

My view from the Balcony Bar.

My view from the Balcony Bar.

I tried to head to the beach again, but the thunder kept going. I walked around the town a bit. Byron Bay is a complete hippie town with plenty of shops to buy tie-dye, dream catchers and organic, vegan food. I did see one marijuana shop as well. And no hippie town is complete without protests. I saw two and signs everywhere for standing up for your rights and fight the parking fee.

One of two protests today in Byron Bay.

One of two protests today in Byron Bay.

I ended my day at Byron Bay in the Railway Friendly Bar. It was across the street from the bus stop and had beer and fish n’ chips – what else do I need?

The Friendly Railway Bar

The Railway Friendly Bar

Fish n' Chips

Fish n’ Chips

Leave a comment